Zodiacs Excursions

Marine Mammal Species


Marine Mammal Species

  1. The Beluga Whale

Measuring 3 to 4.5 metres and weighing between 0.7 and 1.5 tonnes, beluga whales are born brown, change to blue-grey and then turn white when they reach adulthood. Beluga whales feed on molluscs, fish and squid.


Petit Rorqual
  1. The Minke Whale

Measuring between 8 and 10 metres and weighing between 6 and 8 tonnes, their backs are dark grey to black and their bellies are pale. Large, white stripes span their pectoral fins. They feed on small fish and krill.


Rorqual Commun
  1. The Fin Whale

Measuring between 18 and 23 metres and weighing between 50 and 60 tonnes, these are the second largest giants on the planet. They have large dorsal fins, their backs are dark grey and quite large. Their blows are tall and visible from a great distance. They are very fast swimmers.


Rorqual à bosse
  1. The Humpback Whale

Measuring between 10 and 15 metres and weighing 25 to 30 tonnes, they are dark grey in colour. Their bellies are white with black spots and their pectoral fins are 4 metres in length. They are known for their very large tails. Humpback whale dive and feed on small fish and krill.


Rorqual Bleu
  1. The Blue Whale

Measuring between 25 and 30 metres and weighing between 80 and 130 tonnes, their backs and bellies are blue-grey. The blue whale is the largest existing mammal on the planet. Blue whales feed on up to 4 tonnes of krill per day.


  1. The Harbour Porpoise

Measuring between 1.5 and 2 metres and weighing between 45 and 65 kilograms, their backs are blue-black and their bellies are white. Harbour porpoises are small and difficult to spot. They swim in small groups and feed on fish and squid.


  1. Seal

Measuring 1.5 metres and weighing 90 kilograms, seals move in herds and are often found near rocky shores. They feed on fish, molluscs and crustaceans.